How can we improve TrainingPeaks?

Add new workout types

It would be nice to be able to create a new activity type to track. As an XC ski coach, I'd like to be able to track XC Ski- Skate and XC ski-Classic as well as Rollerski- Skate and Rollerski-Classic. It would also be good to be able to track Yoga and other activities that an athlete does regularly that don't fit neatly into the current categories.

433 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    I agree to the terms of service
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Adam St.PierreAdam St.Pierre shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Future Opportunity  ·  BenAdminBen (Admin, TrainingPeaks) responded  · 

We have a plan to add the ability to tag workouts so that we can support an unlimited set of workout types. It’s in the works, albeit a ways off.. but we’re getting there! Thanks for the suggestion.

50 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Colin SimonColin Simon commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

More climbers are using platforms like training peaks... you already work with climbing coaches, so please create a climbing sport type!

• MarvinMarvin commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Would be nice for the Custom workout type to be truly customizable. For example, if I created 2 workouts under the Custom heading named Yoga and Stretching, each should appear under their own heading in the fitness summary chart.

Given the popularity of fitness trackers maybe a true custom field is of greater precedence now. Many activities sync to TP as Other. Supporting every category of every device seems excessive however a custom field would allow the user to manually categorize.